Indian Paracycling Team

Hyderabad, 10th June 2024: The Indian Paracycling Team showcased exceptional talent and determination at the 12th Asian Para-Cycling Road Championships 2024, held in Almaty, Kazakhstan. The team picked up a rich haul of medals through their stupendous performance including a Gold medal by Jyoti Gaderiya of Maharashtra in the C2 category, a Silver medal by Shaik Arshad of Andhra Pradesh in the Men’s C2; Silver medal by Prashant Arkal of Maharashtra in the Hand-cyclist category and Bronze medal by Yogesh Ahire of Maharashtra in the Hand-cyclist category.

The timings clocked by the Indian para-cyclists at the championship was

Jyoti- WC2-32.21 for 16 kms;

Arshad Shaik- MC2- 26.38 for 16 kms

Prashant Arkal – Hand cyclist- 29.29 for 16 kms

Yogesh Ahire- Hand cyclist- 35.41 for 16 kms

Arshad and Jyoti have already qualified for the Paralympics 2024 to be held in Paris. The Asian Para-Cycling Road Championships had teams participating from Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, UAE, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Palestine, Thailand and Oman.

This remarkable achievement was made possible through the dedicated training provided by the Aditya Mehta Foundation’s team and invaluable Support by Sports Authority of India and Cycling Federation of India. We extend our heartfelt gratitude to our well-wishers and sponsors, including Alcon, GMMCO, NMDC, United Way of Hyderabad, UST, Qualcomm, Mudhra and Nirmaan for their unwavering support. The Aditya Mehta Foundation is proud of our paracyclists and remains committed to supporting and nurturing talent in parasports, says Aditya Mehta, Founder, Aditya Mehta Foundation.